Disability Service Standards

These standards focus on rights and outcomes for people with disability.

National Disability Service Standards

These disability service standards apply whether the services are delivered by government departments and agencies or other providers.

Standard 1

Rights – The service promotes individual rights to freedom of expression, self- determination and decision-making and actively prevents abuse, harm, neglect and violence.

Standard 2

Participation and Inclusion – The service works with individuals and families, friends and carers to promote opportunities for meaningful participation and active inclusion in society.

Standard 3

Individual Outcomes – Services and supports are assessed, planned, delivered and reviewed to build on individual strengths and enable individuals to reach their goals.

Standard 4

Feedback and Complaints – Regular feedback is sought and used to inform individual and organisation-wide service reviews and improvement.

Standard 5

Service Access – The service manages access, commencement and leaving a service in a transparent, fair, equal and responsive way.

Standard 6

Service Management – The service has effective and accountable service management and leadership to maximise outcomes for individuals.

Read the National Disability Service Standards in full.